::: Home > About the NPMSB > Introduction to the Southern Branch of the National Palace Museum
Text size :

Introduction to the Southern Branch of the National Palace Museum

Organization and Mission

To achieve cultural equity between the northern and southern regions of Taiwan, and to enhance the cultural, educational, social and economic development in central and southern Taiwan, the Executive Yuan approved of the building of the Southern Branch of the National Palace Museum in Taibao, Chiayi County on December 15, 2004, setting the museum as “an Asian Art and Culture Museum”.。

The Taipei Campus and the Southern Branch complement each other and enjoy an equal status in the hope of being the cultural spotlights that ignite both the northern and southern Taiwan to achieve art and cultural equity.

 

Architecture and Landscape

A. Museum (the main building)

The Southern Branch of the National Palace Museum takes up an area of approximately 70 ha., including a museum of 20 ha. and a park of 50 ha. Designed by Architect Kris Yao, the museum was conceived from the three brush strokes exerted in Chinese ink painting, nongmo (thick ink), feibai (dry brush) and xuanran (ink wash). Together the three strokes transform into a streamlined building where void and solid masses meet and interweave.

Named the Moyun Hall, the solid mass is used as exhibition halls and artifact archives. Feibai Hall, the void mass, features the lobby, the educational space, the restaurant and the souvenir shop. The central hallway that springs from the landscape bridge in the south winds toward the courtyard that is shaped and enclosed by the void and solid masses, making itself the perfect presentation of xuanran (ink wash). The three curves, in the meantime, also symbolizes the three ancient civilizations in Asia, China, India and Persia, which collide and converge in the long river of history, giving rise to stunning Asian art and culture glowing in diversity and brilliance.

Following the highest architectural standards, the design of the museum attends to various aspects to construct an earthquake-resistant, anti-flood, eco-friendly, secure, anti-disaster, smart, convenient and comfortable museum building. 210 friction pendulum systems are configured for basic shock insulation. Regarding the anti-flood design, the 11-meter elevation of the first floor is higher than the 200-year recurrence water level. In addition, the building has been certified as a diamond-level green building by EEWH (Ecology, Energy Saving, Waste Reduction and Health) and obtained the candidate certificate of the Intelligent Green Building.

 

B.Zhimei Bridge

As a landscape bridge spanning across the lake, Zhimei Bridge, built close to the surface of the water, casts in the air two elegant curves rising above the water. With a span of 142 meters, the bridge is designed as a large steel arch bridge with no piers to cause impact on the waterproof coating at the bottom of the artificial lake. Designed to appear low-key and lightweight, the structure of the bridge only uses the support of the main arch and the curved beams and the bracket floors on the S-shaped bridge. 25 undulating curved ribs with various lengths and angles form into a curvy sequence that follows the alterations of the bridge floors, producing a sense of rhythm that moves along with visitors’ changing perspectives.

To clearly display the curved ribs and be mindful of the drainage between the floor and the shade structure, the bridge adopts open joints on the bridge floor, on which visitors walk freely and enjoy different views on each side of the bridge. The bridge has a tilting of 1 meter that leans toward south, making it appear to being touching the surface of the water in a light and floaty gesture.

 

 

C.Park Landscape

The design of the park landscape aims at meeting the needs for leisure activities of the museum visitors and the residents living nearby. In addition, it also serves to prevent floods and develop ecological balance. Surrounded by various trails, the park forms a beautiful route with Waterscape Garden, Tropical Garden, Festival Garden and other scenic areas. Amenities, such as waterscape, pavilions and trails, are thoughtfully designed along with the undulating landform. Great spots for overlooking the beautiful landscape include the Memorial Stone of the Establishment of the Southern Branch at Southside Entrance, Art Hill, Waterfront Stage and Bird Viewing Platform.。

 

 

 

  

Vision

The National Palace Museum (NPM) is known for its collection of Chinese artifacts. Most of its artifacts came from the Qing Palace, which housed precious artifacts collected by the imperial family over thousands of years. These artifacts total to nearly 700,000 pieces and include antiquities, paintings and calligraphy, historical documents and rare books, and Asian artifacts, making them one of the world's unique collections of cultural assets. Since its restoration in Waishuangxi, Taipei in 1965, the NPM has attracted millions of domestic and foreign tourists every year, and has demonstrated how culture has become the soft potential of Taiwan and the foundation of the development in economic, tourism and cultural creative industries.

Various civilizations in the East Asian cultural sphere, including the Chinese civilization, have communicated and interacted with each other in the vast Pan-Asian region since ancient times through the Silk Roads both on the land and the sea. Therefore, from a macro perspective, it is easy to discover that some artifacts initially classified as Chinese origins also bear other Asian elements while some relics believed to be originated from Northeast Asia or Southeast Asia reveal traces of Chinese connectivity.

Set as “an Asian Art and Culture Museum,” the Southern Branch of the National Palace Museum aims to “Focus on Asia” and to “Broaden Perspectives,” striving to interpret and exhibit the cultural concepts and artistic accomplishments of Asia through artifact acquisition, research, exhibitions/international loans, education and other undertakings. Bestowed upon the mission of achieving cultural equity between the northern and southern regions of Taiwan, the Southern Branch of the National Palace Museum will adhere to the directions of “Be Rooted in Art,” “Connect with Local Community” and “Promote Diverse Asian Culture” in the hope of rooting and furthering brilliant Asian civilizations in Chiayi for domestic and foreign visitors.



top

::: 首頁 > 認識故宮南院 > 故宮南院簡介
字級大小 :

故宮南院簡介

組織與定位

為「平衡南北‧文化均富」,帶動臺灣中南部地區的文化、教育、社會、經濟發展,民國93年12月15日行政院核定在嘉義縣太保市設置國立故宮博物院南部院區,定位為「亞洲藝術文化博物館」。

國立故宮博物院之北部院區與南部院區,兩者位階平行,相輔相成,期實現南北文化雙星雙亮點,達成藝術均富的理念。

 

建築及園區景觀

(一)博物館建築

故宫南院總面積約70公頃,包含博物館區20公頃、園區50公頃,博物館建築由姚仁喜建築師設計,以傳統水墨畫之「濃墨」、「飛白」及「渲染」三種筆法為概念發想,發展出虛、實量體相互交織的流線形體。

實量體,名為「墨韻樓」,主要功能為展廳及文物庫房;虛量體,名「飛白館」,設有接待大廳、博物館教育空間、餐飲及紀念品商店等。中央走道自南端景觀橋開始,以蜿蜒曲線穿入虛、實量體所圍塑之中庭,即為渲染。這三道曲線,同時也象徵著中華、印度及波斯三個古文明,在歷史長河中匯聚交流,衍生出燦爛多元的亞洲藝術文化。

博物館建築之結構與設備,在抗震、防洪、 環保、安全防災、智慧、便利、舒適等各方面,皆以最高標準進行設計,基礎隔震配置210顆摩擦單擺支承隔震器,可發揮隔震效果。防洪設計以博物館一樓樓版設計,高程為11M,高於200年重現期水位高程。建築物本身已取得鑽石級綠建築標章及智慧型                                                                             型建築候選證書。

 

(二)至美橋

至美橋係一座跨湖景觀橋,整座橋在低空形成一道由水面拔然而起之優雅雙圓弧線,橋面跨徑約142公尺,為避免湖中落柱影響原有人工湖底防水效果,選擇以不落橋墩之結構形式,採用大跨度鋼骨單拱橋,橋體結構以不張揚之輕量化設計為原則,結構支撐僅依賴主拱與S型橋面板間的拱樑與肋板,25根長度與角度都不相同 的拱肋,隨橋面板的彎曲形成變化的序列,呈現出視覺上角度漸變的韻律感。

為讓拱肋元素清晰表現並考量橋面與遮陽板排水,橋面中央採空縫設計,可供遊客在橋面上左右穿梭與停駐,觀看兩邊湖面之不同景色。橋面本身稍向南傾斜,橋面南北端高程差1公尺,彷彿輕點水面,營造橋體之輕盈感。

 

 

(三)園區景觀

園區景觀以滿足博物館觀眾及周邊地區民眾之休閒運動需求,並發揮防洪與生態之功能設計。全園區以園道圍繞,形成一條流暢優美的賞遊動線。伴隨園道規劃有水景花園、熱帶花園、慶典花園等區域,並隨地形起伏配置水景、涼亭、步道等設施。景觀絕佳的眺望點包含南側入口「故宮南院興建記石碑」、藝術之丘、水岸舞臺及出眺景觀平臺等。

 

 

 

  

願景展望

國立故宮博物院以典藏華夏文物馳名於世,收藏主要源自清宮,集千年皇室精華,藏品含括器物、書畫、圖書文獻及亞洲文物等近70萬件,洵屬世界特有的文化資產。自1965年於臺北外雙溪復院以來,現每年吸引數百萬計之國內外觀眾到院參訪,證明文化是臺灣的軟實力,更是文創、觀光及經濟產業發展的基石。

華夏文明涵蓋於東亞文明中,自古通過陸地與海上絲路,各地文明在廣闊的泛亞洲地域交織聯繫,相互影響、交融;若以宏觀角度探索,不難發現,原被歸類為華夏的文物中,也蘊藏著亞洲元素;而被歸類在東北亞、東南亞地區的文物,也多有展露與華夏文明交流融合的痕跡。

國立故宮博物院南部院區定位為「亞洲藝術文化博物館」,以「放眼亞洲、提升視野」為職志,通過文物徵集、研究、展覽/國際借展、教育推廣等多元方式,致力詮釋、呈現「亞洲」之文化概念與藝術成就。依循「平衡南北‧文化均富」的使命,故宮南院以「藝術扎根」、「連結在地」、「推廣亞洲多元文化」為三大努力方向,期待亞洲燦爛豐富的文明成就,能在嘉義扎根散葉,為更多國內外到訪遊客認識及欣賞。



top