::: Home > Exhibition > Exhibit Info
Text size :

Exhibitions of Loaned Artifacts

Sailing the High Seas: Imari Porcelain Wares
Sailing the High Seas: Imari Porcelain Wares
Extension:Exhibitions of Loaned Artifacts 2015/12/28~ 2018/12/28
Showroom: S201
Exhibition Description

 

Exhibition Description

 

  • Introduction

    Exhibitions of Loaned Artifacts / S201

    Japan has greatly admired China's high-fired porcelain wares since the Tang and Song Dynasties. However, owing to limitations of technology and resources, they were initially unable to produce their own wares and had to rely on porcelains imported from China, which were available only to Japanese high society. The invasions of Korea by Toyotomi Hideyoshi from 1592 to 1598 brought skilled porcelain craftsmen back to Japan, thereby changing Japan's reliance on imported wares from China. These Korean craftsmen discovered Izumiyama clay in what is now Saga Prefecture, thereby settling the resource problem, and the first porcelain wares of Japanese origin were created in the town of Arita in 1616. Within the next thirty to forty years, Arita porcelain skills rapidly improved and came to be well acknowledged. They were sold overseas from the nearby port of Imari, which is how they acquired the name "Imari Porcelain". During the mid-17th century, as China's porcelain exports were suspended during the transition from the Ming to the Qing dynasties, Imari porcelain, sold into the European market through the Dutch East India Company, stood out in international trade and became highly popular in Europe.

    The Imari wares of far eastern origin were not only regarded as popular curios and tableware among European royalty, but were also used as palace decorations and exchanged between diplomatic envoys as valuable gifts.

    A total of 161 items are on exhibition here from the Museum of Oriental Ceramics, Osaka, most of which are Imari wares exported to Europe during the 17th and 18th centuries. The exhibition introduces the features of Imari porcelain wares and their use in Europe in four parts: "Imari Porcelain," "Ostentatious Displays," "Banquet Tableware," and "Palace Decorations." A fifth part, "Diplomatic Gifts", presents 13 Imari items discovered in the Qing Dynasty palace in Beijing. Through the different collections, the exhibition presents the splendor of Imari porcelain in the competitive Age of Discovery.

 
  • Part1 - Imari Porcelain

  • DISH Blue-and-white with heron design

  • DISH
    Blue-and-white with heron design

    Edo period.1660-1670s
    H 5.8/D 31.2
    Arita ware
    The Museum of Oriental Ceramics, Osaka

    Depicted at the center of the dish are two egrets standing in front of sweet sedge on Taihu scholar's rocks; along the rims are designs of chrysanthemums surrounded by rocks and waves. The blue-and-white designs are like a painting, strategically using light and dark shades of cobalt blue and coloring techniques to create a three-dimensional image. This style was popular during the initial period of Imari exports.

  • LARGE DISH Porcelain with design of a pavilion and ladies in overglaze polychrome enamels

  • LARGE DISH
    Porcelain with design of a pavilion and ladies in overglaze polychrome enamels

    Edo period.1700-1730s
    H 9.1/D 55.7
    Arita ware
    The Museum of Oriental Ceramics, Osaka

    An illustration of a yard with peonies and cherry blossoms in full bloom, while ladies of pleasure and their servants view the spring scenery from a two-storied pavilion and a bridge. The pavilion and lake rocks are drawn in blue-and-white, with the bridge and clouds further decorated in red and gold enamel, creating a luxurious spring scene. The rim of the dish is adorned with three blossoms of peony, chrysanthemum, and plum. Within the foot-ring of the dish, the marks of twelve supporting pin marks can still be seen, to which nine triangular supporting pin marks can still be seen, to which nine triangular supporting pins are still firmly attached.

 
  • Part2 - Ostentatious Displays

  • LOBED STRAINING BOWL AND LOBED UNDER PLATE

  • LOBED STRAINING BOWL AND LOBED UNDER PLATE
    Kraak style (fuyod) porcelain with flower arrangement design in overglaze polychrome enamels

    Edo period.1740-1770s
    Bowl)H 8.3/D 24.5( Saucer)H 5.9/D 30.7
    Arita ware
    The Museum of Oriental Ceramics, Osaka

    A straining bowl with a three-foots underplate of unique form; it may have been used as a straining bowl for washing fruits and vegetables and could be placed on the dining table as well. Depicted on the inner side of the bowl is a vase of blossoming flowers, while the rims of the bowl and underplate have similar eight-sectored designs in the Kraak style. Inside the foot-ring of the underplate, the characters Da Ming Jiajing nianzhi 大明嘉靖年製 (“Made during the Jiajing reign-period(1522-1566) of the Great Ming(dynasty)”) are inscribed in blue-and-white within double circles; the outer rims of the wares are decorated with peony and plant prints.

 
  • Part3 - Banquet Tableware

    As food is a basic human need, eating habits often reflect particular humans cultures. To respond to demands from the European market, Arita craftsmen designed customized banquet tableware different from that used within Japan. Imari porcelains imitating European metal or low-fired porcelain wares were designed for all functions, such as large dishes convenient for use knives and forks, soup tureens, spice jars, beer jugs, coffee pots, and cocoa mugs. AS Imari ware found its place on European banquet tables, spread out for luxurious afternoon activities, it also established its position in European society.

  • BOWL Porcelain with flowers-and-bird design in overglaze polychrome enamels

  • BOWL
    Porcelain with flowers-and-bird design in overglaze polychrome enamels

    Edo period.1720-1740s
    H 34.6/W 34.4
    Arita ware
    The Museum of Oriental Ceramics, Osaka

    A large lidded bowl with a rarely-seen rabbit-shaped knob atop the lid, replacing the commonly-used lion motif. The rabbit, crouching on a sphere, has big alert ears and round eyes. Similar rabbit designs on other vessels have been explained as representing the “moon rabbit” whose shape can be seen on the face of the moon. Panels in the lid and bowl also show realistic paintings of a pheasant in the clutches of a raptor, perhaps an eagle. The golden outlining use in the illustration was a trend of the time.

  • SET OF CONDIMENT CONTAINERS AND TRAY

  • SET OF CONDIMENT CONTAINERS AND TRAY
    Porcelain with flowering plant design in overglaze polychrome enamels

    Edo period.1700-1730s
    (Pot)H 10.4/W 8.5
    (A)H 10.7/W 10.3 (S)H 10.5/W 10.1(O)H 10.6/W 10.4
    (Saucer)H 11.0/D 25.3
    Arita ware
    The Museum of Oriental Ceramics, Osaka

    A set of four condiment containers and tray. A bottom-flared hollow cylinder protrudes from the center of the tray, which has round indentations for the containers. Three of four containers are designed with spouts and panels marked with letters A, O and S in gold, reflecting their purpose for holding vinegar, oil, and syrup (Azjin, Olie, and Siroop in Dutch) respectively. The only spoutless container has an indented rim instead so as to hold a spoon, and was presumably used to contain mustard.

 
  • Part4 - Palace Decorations

  • LARGE JAR Porcelain with design of a lady holding a parasol in overglaze polychrome enamels

  • LARGE JAR
    Porcelain with design of a lady holding a parasol in overglaze polychrome enamels

    Edo period.1740-1770s
    H 59.0/D 30.9
    Arita ware
    The Museum of Oriental Ceramics, Osaka

    Cloud-shaped panels on the lid and the body of this jar feature a lady wearing black wooden sandals dancing with an oil-paper parasol. This type of design was inspired by the figures and customs of the Edo period. A figure of a topknotwearing man holding a fan stands atop the lid of the jar; there is a small hole on the left side of his back. The body of the jar is patterned with peonies in blue underglaze as the background, with a sharp contrast between the blue and white. The gold contours are also characteristic of Edo-period wares. The Mapleleaf Dance of Suzuki Harunohu(1725-1770) is the most famous work of the "parasol lady" theme. The "lady" designs on Imari export wares can be said to be the “ukiyo-e of porcelain".

  • FIGURINES OF SUMO WRESTLERS (two sets)

  • FIGURINES OF SUMO WRESTLERS (two sets)
    Porcelain with decoration in overglaze polychrome enamels

    Edo period.1680-1710s
    (Left) H:30.6/W:23.0 (Right) H:31.3/W:25.4
    Arita ware
    The Museum of Oriental Ceramics, Osaka

    The sumo-wrestler figurine of the Kakiemon style reached its technical maturity in the Enpo Era (1673-1681). The artwork vividly depicts two sumo wrestlers wearing topknots and Edo-period hairstyle (the entire head shaved just above the ear, with the reminder tied up in the back) in action. Their loincloths bear traces of gold paint. Baron of Burghley William Cecil (1520-1598) had a similar collectable in his mansion, and his 1688 family treasure inventory also documents “two male porcelain figurines of sumo wrestlers."

 
  • Part5 - Diplomatic Gifts

  • FIOWER-RIMMED BOWL

  • FIOWER-RIMMED BOWL
    Porcelain with overglaze polychrome enamels

    Edo period.1670-1700s
    H 11.4/MD 1.4/BD 11.3
    Arita ware
    National Palace Museum

    This bowl is shaped like a five-petaled flower. The outer surface of bowl is glazes with a sheer layer of milky white enamel, upon which are illustrations of mountains, rocks, flowers, and trees. Pheonixes at play are depicted in the center of the bowl. Much of the surface is left blank, creating the modest yet elegant quality of an Kakiemon-styled Imari product. The character fu 福 (“Fortune”) appears within a square in the center of the bottom of the bowl; because of its swirling calligraphy, it is also referred to as the “Wofu 渦福 (Swirling Fortune)” inscription.

 



top

::: 首頁 > 參觀南院 > 展覽資訊
字級大小 :

國際借展

揚帆萬里—日本伊萬里瓷器特展
揚帆萬里—日本伊萬里瓷器特展
展期:國際借展 2015/12/28~ 2018/12/28
陳列室: S201 陶瓷展廳
展覽說明

 

展覽說明

 

  • 展覽概述

    國際借展/陶瓷展廳

    唐宋以來,日本人極喜愛中國生產的高溫瓷器,惟受限於技術和原料,無法自行燒製,只能仰賴中國進口,僅供上層階級使用。在日本桃山時代末期的1592 年,豐臣秀吉(1537-1598)出兵朝鮮,帶回熟稔製瓷技術的朝鮮工匠,日本仰賴瓷器進口的局面終於改變。朝鮮工匠在今日本佐賀縣有田町發現泉山瓷石,解決了原料的問題。1610 年代,又在有田町燒製出日本第一件瓷器。此後三四十年間,有田的製瓷技術蒸蒸日上,廣受好評,同時也透過鄰近的伊萬里港轉運出售,「伊萬里燒」之名不脛而走。十七世紀中葉,時值明清易代,伊萬里瓷器趁中國瓷器外銷廢弛之際,在國際貿易上異軍突起,經荷蘭東印度公司轉運出售,成為歐洲炙手可熱的商品。來自遠東的伊萬里瓷器,不但是歐洲王公貴族間爭相訂購的珍玩及餐具,也成為妝點宮殿的飾品與外交使節間餽贈的重禮。

    本展覽來自大阪市立東洋陶瓷美術館,共一百六十一組件作品,其中主要是十七、十八世紀外銷歐洲的伊萬里瓷器,並以「伊萬里瓷」、「炫富道具」、「筵席食具」、「宮殿裝飾」等四單元,介紹伊萬里瓷器的特色,以及其在歐洲的用途。第五單元「國使贈禮」則展示清宮舊藏十三組件伊萬里瓷,以不同的收藏脈絡,呈現伊萬里瓷器在航海時代的貨利爭逐中,百餘年的歷史風華。

 
  • 單元一 伊萬里瓷

  • 青花鷺鷥紋盤

  • 青花鷺鷥紋盤

    江戶時代.1660-1670 年代
    高5.8 公分/ 徑31.2 公分
    有田窯
    大阪市立東洋陶瓷美術館藏(No.32354)

    盤心中央為兩隻佇立於太湖石與菖蒲前的鷺鷥,近口緣處則描繪以圍繞著菊花的岩石與海波紋。青花繪飾巧妙地運用鈷藍濃淡與著色技法產生立體感,彷彿繪畫一般,此為伊萬里輸出初期處處可見的風格。

  • 五彩樓閣美人紋大盤

  • 五彩樓閣美人紋大盤

    江戶時代.1700-1730 年代
    高9.1 公分/ 口徑55.7 公分
    有田窯
    大阪市立東洋陶瓷美術館藏(No.32301)

    描繪牡丹與櫻花盛開的庭園中,於兩層樓閣內與屋外橋上有飽覽春景的遊女與隨侍。以青花描繪樓閣與岩石,再以紅彩與滿滿的金彩裝飾橋與雲,營造出春天華麗的風景。盤壁周圍繪有牡丹、菊花與梅花三朵,圈足內有十二個燒製痕,其中九個三角錐狀支釘還牢固地附著於上。

 
  • 單元二 炫富道具

  • 五彩卡拉克花盆紋瀝水盆組

  • 五彩卡拉克花盆紋瀝水盆組

    江戶時代.1740-1770 年代
    (碗)高8.3公分/徑24.5公分(盤)高5.9公分/徑30.7公分
    有田窯
    大阪市立東洋陶瓷美術館藏(No.32343)

    開孔碗,附三足盛盤。形制特殊,可能是洗滌水果與蔬菜時用以隔水的瀝水缽,可直接放於餐桌。碗內面描繪綻放的瓶花,碗壁與盛盤內面相同,作八塊開光的「卡拉克」構圖;盛盤圈足內有複線雙圈「大明嘉靖年製」青花仿款,器外壁各飾牡丹植物紋。

 
  • 單元三 席食具

    民以食為天,許多地方文化細節往往會折射在飲食之間。配合外銷歐洲的市場需求,有田陶工透過特製,燒造有別於日本境內使用的筵席食具,像方便使用刀刃的折沿大盤、盛湯的蓋碗以及調味料瓶、啤酒罐、咖啡壺、可可杯等,都是模仿歐洲習用的金屬或低溫陶器,轉換為伊萬里瓷器。當伊萬里瓷佔據了異國的餐桌、酒席,遍佈在午後的休閒時光與愉悅的杯觥交錯間,可說就真正地在歐洲立定足跟了。

  • 五彩花鳥紋蓋碗

  • 五彩花鳥紋蓋碗

    江戶時代.1720-1740 年代
    高34.6 公分/ 口徑34.4 公分
    有田窯
    大阪市立東洋陶瓷美術館藏(No.32284)

    帶蓋大碗,蓋鈕以罕見的兔鈕取代常用的獅子,兔子蹲踞於球狀物上,豎起的大耳朵與圓滾滾的眼睛令人印象深刻;同樣造型的兔子也有獨立為一作品的,或云是表現傳說中棲息月上的月兔。蓋與碗的開光內寫實地描繪捕捉雉鳥的猛禽(可能是鷲)姿態,彩繪上再以金彩繪描輪廓亦是此時期的特色之一。

  • 五彩花卉紋調味罐組

  • 五彩花卉紋調味罐組

    江戶時代.1700-1730 年代
    (調味瓶)高10.4 公分/ 寬8.5 公分
    (字母A)高10.7 公分/ 寬10.3 公分 (字母S)高10.5 公分/ 寬10.1 公分 (字母O)高10.6 公分/ 寬10.4 公分
    (托盤)高11.0 公分/ 口徑25.3 公分
    有田窯
    大阪市立東洋陶瓷美術館藏(No.32320))

    四種調味料容器及其盛盤。盛盤中央附突起的空心喇叭狀筒,並設有調味料容器的圓形凹槽;其中三件容器帶流,器身畫圓形開光內飾金彩字母,分別為「A」(荷蘭語Azjin=醋),「O」(Olie=油)以及「S」(Siroop=糖漿),代表不同用途;缺流者於口緣設一洞口放置湯匙,推測用以盛裝芥末,可能是以荷蘭銀器為祖型。

 
  • 單元四 宮殿裝飾

  • 五彩持傘美人紋大壺

  • 五彩持傘美人紋大壺

    江戶時代.1740-1770 年代
    高59.0 公分/ 徑30.9 公分
    有田窯
    大阪市立東洋陶瓷美術館藏(No.32355)

    壺身與蓋面上皆有雲頭狀開光,內繪撐著繫花油紙傘、穿著黑色高木屐舞動的美人,是以江戶時代人物風俗為主題的優美作品。蓋鈕為持扇的梳髻男性塑像,背左側留有一孔;器身以青花描繪牡丹花紋為地,藍白對比效果鮮明,金彩輪廓線亦為該時期的特徵之一。同樣以手持油紙傘跳舞的美人為題,最有名的就是鈴木春信(約1725 年左右-1770)的〈紅葉舞美人〉,伊萬里外銷瓷上的美人紋,可說是「瓷器上的浮世繪」。

  • 五彩相撲人像(二組)

  • 五彩相撲人像(二組)

    江戶時代.1680-1710 年代
    (左)高30.6 公分/ 寬23.0 公分(右)高31.3 公分/ 寬25.4 公分
    有田窯
    大阪市立東洋陶瓷美術館藏(No.31343)

    於延寶年間技術成熟的「柿右衛門樣式」相撲人像,表現各帶著「撥鬢」與「野郎頭」髮式的兩人在搏鬥瞬間栩栩如生的狀態,作品中丁字帶等處仍殘留著金彩裝飾。在英國貴族威廉‧賽西爾(1520-1598)的舊宅中藏有類似作品,同時該宅邸的家財目錄中,於1688 年亦記載「兩個相撲姿態的瓷器男像」。

 
  • 單元五 國使贈禮

  • 五彩花口碗

  • 五彩花口碗

    江戶時代.1670-1700 年代
    高11.4 公分/ 口徑11.4 公分/ 底徑11.3 公分
    有田窯
    國立故宮博物院藏(故瓷12098)

    碗呈五瓣花形,內外壁均施乳白色釉,釉層較薄。釉上加彩繪飾山石花木,碗心則有雙鳳追逐,紋飾之外還保留大量空白,散發含蓄優雅的氣質,是伊萬里瓷器中的「柿右衛門」樣式。器外底心書雙方框「福」字銘,書體近渦旋狀,也稱之為「渦福」銘。

  • 描金青花五彩花卉菊瓣盤

  • 描金青花五彩花卉菊瓣盤

    江戶時代.1680-1710 年代
    高6 公分/口徑24 公分/底徑15.2 公分
    有田窯
    國立故宮博物院藏(故瓷16637)

    菊花口盤,為典型的金襴手樣式作品。盤外壁描繪青花纏枝與部分葉片,其間配置紅、黃、綠彩百合花葉;內壁中心則有折枝菊花,並以稻草籬外接三個金色圓形開光,其內分別描繪水仙、茶花與櫻花。口緣飾金彩,圈足外繪一道捲雲紋,足內無款,僅以青花飾弦紋一周。

 

標籤 : 展覽資訊(11)


top